Just In : Oyo Assembly Screens, Confirms Makinde’s Seven Returning Commissioners


The Oyo State House of Assembly has screened and confirmed seven returning Oyo State Commissioners whose names were forwarded to the lawmakers by the Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde.

The seven candidates – Mr Akinola Ojo, Prof Oyelowo Oyewo, Chief Bayo Lawal, Prof Dawood Kehinde Sangodoyin, Barr Temilolu Nurudeen Ashamu, Mrs Faosat Joke Sanni and Alhaji Ismaila Ayansiju Lawal appeared simultaneous before the lawmakers at 12.30 p.m today ( Thurdsay ) to present their stewardship and answer procedural questions.

After they were grilled, the lawmakers unanimously observed that all the seven nominees had served the state and performed well, thereby made them qualified and fit to be reappointed as commissioners.

They are all expected to be sworn in by governor Seyi Makinde and return to their former ministries.

The seven retuning commissioners and their portfolio are : Mr Akinola Ojo (Ministry of Finance), Prof Oyelowo Oyewo SAN (Ministry of Justice), Chief Bayo Lawal (Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters) and Prof Dawood Kehinde Sangodoyin (Ministry of Public Works).

Others are Barr Temilolu Nurudeen Ashamu (Ministry of Energy), Mrs Faosat Joke Sanni (Ministry of Women Affairs) and Alhaji Ismaila Ayansiju Lawal , (Ministry of Establishment and Training).