Creation Of Oke-Ogun State Bill Schedules For Legislative Action


A bill seeking the creation of three additional states in the South-West has been listed for presentation in the House of Representatives.

The proposed law is seeking the creation of Oke-Ogun, Ijebu, and Ife-Ijesa states.

The proposed legislation is titled “A Bill for an Act to Amend the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended)”, it is sponsored by the lawmaker representing Obokun/Oriade Federal Constituency, Osun State, Oluwole Oke.

In the draft bill, Oke-Ogun State with Iseyin as the proposed capital city would be made up of 12 local government areas, including Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola and Iseyin.

In a letter dated February 6, 2024, and addressed to the Clerk of the House, Oke wrote: “I wish to forward the above-mentioned bill to your office for further necessary legislative action to enable me to move same in our great Green Chamber, sir.”

The South-West geo-political zone is currently made up of six federating states, which are Ondo, Oyo, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, and Ekiti states.

5If Oke’s bill scales legislative hurdles, the region would surpass the North-West, which currently has seven states, the highest among the other zones of North-Central, North-East, South-West, South-South-South, and South-East.

...For the latest news update, Subscribe to our Whatsapp Channel (Click Here) and join our Telegram Update Group (Click Here)

Keji New 1
Do you know that you can now get your Stories, Articles, Events, and Eyewitness Reports published on ?
You can also advertise your Product and Services on our page for more patronage
Contact us today by sending your Stories, Articles, Events, and Eyewitness Reports for publications as well as products and services for advertisement to or WhatsApp (+2348058448531) for more information